Stuck in Limbo

My life has been placed on hold for the past nine weeks.

Not literally, of course. I wake up at the exact same time each day, make the hour-long drive to my office in Chicago and put my eight hours in. I return home each night to eat dinner, go to bed and repeat.

In a physical sense, I’m very much moving forward.

In any other sense, though, I’m on pause.

I’ve sat back as my friends from home left Bartlett and returned to school, and grew incredibly jealous as my IU friends reconvened. I’ve gone absolutely stir crazy without the chance to go and do and see as I’m so accustomed to spending my time. I’ve driven myself mad with the thought that I’m stuck in time, while everyone around me seems to have moved on without me.

And what do I have to show for it all? A few mediocre paychecks, a pair of red light traffic tickets and the knowledge of several TV shows.

But last night, I was told that all these people are simply living their lives, and in two short weeks, I will get to live my own once again, when I finally leave for Peru and embark on my own adventures.

It’s been a rough journey, and at this point, it doesn’t seem that it’s been entirely worth it. I remind myself that I made this decision for a reason, though, and I can’t imagine that it’ll disappoint.

So here’s to two more weeks of utter limbo before plunging into the unknown.

* * *

Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.”

